Advent Reflection: God’s Generosity

Standard

“For the Lord, the God of Israel says: ‘The jar of flour shall not go empty, nor the jug of oil run dry, until the day when the Lord sends rain upon the earth.’ ”

I Kings 17:14

Recall a time when God blessed you with an abundance you did not expect.

flouroil

Going Deeper

Read I Kings 17.

When I was planning to transition from working full time to part time in order to have more time to exercise my charisms, I was concerned that my decrease in income might significantly limit my ability to share my money with deserving individuals and organizations. But God had something different in mind. The hospital where I was working didn’t have any part-time openings. So I left the hospital and took a part-time position at a nursing home, where my hourly pay was significantly greater. God provided with unexpected generosity, and I was able to continue to financially support organizations that do so much good in our community.

The widow of Zarephath believed that she was preparing the last meal for herself and her son before they would starve. Yet she trusted God and his messenger, and prepared some bread for Elijah first. God rewarded her generosity, providing her with a bottomless jar of flour and jug of oil until the drought was over.

Have you ever been surprised by God’s generosity? Write a letter of thanks to God.

Leave a Reply

