Third Sunday of Advent: A Glimpse of Heaven

Standard

But Ruth said, “Do not press me to go back and abandon you! Wherever you go I will go. Wherever you lodge I will lodge. Your people shall be my people and your God, my God.”

Ruth 1:16

Who is your closest friend? Has God ever acted through that person to give you a taste of Heaven?

Going Deeper

Read Ruth 1:1-18.

I believe that God gives us little glimpses of Heaven. The Mass, the Sacrament of Marriage, and the beauty of creation are just a few examples. I also experience a touch of Heaven in my close friendships. In particular, I appreciate the experience of being known and understood on a deep level:

  • When my sister senses my high level of stress and leaves me an encouraging note.
  • When one friend assumes that I would act in a certain way, and a closer friend states, accurately and with certainty, that I would do something completely different.
  • When I get together with a friend whose opinions on social and political issues differ significantly from mine, and our conversation naturally gravitates toward topics where we share common ground—even if that common ground isn’t shared by the person in the booth next to ours at the restaurant.

Given the feelings of connectedness and joy that come from these experiences of being known, I look forward with great anticipation (and a little fear!) to being face-to-face with the One who knows “my very self” (Psalm 139:14). And I pray that I will always respond to God with the same fervor of devotion that Ruth expressed toward Naomi.

Repeat Ruth’s words as your prayer offering today:

Heavenly Father, wherever you go I will go.

Jesus, wherever you go I will go.

Holy Spirit, wherever you go I will go.

ruth-and-naomi-coloring

Leave a Reply

