Advent Reflection: God is Here!

Standard

When the Lord saw that he had turned aside to look, God called out to him from the bush: “Moses! Moses!”

He answered, “Here I am.”

God said: “Do not come near! Remove your sandals from your feet, for the place where you stand is holy ground.”

Exodus 3:4-5

When Moses saw the bush that burned without being consumed, he knew he was in the presence of God. Has something happened in your life that assured you God was there?

burning-bush-coloring

Going Deeper

Read Exodus 3:1-10.

I know that God is with me all the time. The Holy Spirit dwells within me (I Corinthians 6:19-20). At every Mass, I receive Jesus Christ, body and blood, soul and divinity. Jesus reminds me that I can see God in all of the people around me (Matthew 25:34-40).

Even though we know God is always with us, sometimes it’s hard to remember. Sometimes God feels very far away. During those times, we may experience something that reminds us that God is here—that he’s been here all along. For Jacob, it was an all-night wrestling match that ended in a dislocated hip (Genesis 32:25-31) For Moses, it was a burning bush. For Elijah, a still small voice.

God has reminded me of his presence in many different ways, big and small:

  • In a crowded church pew, when I was afraid I was going to be alone
  • In a song that assured me my recently-deceased grandmother was happily playing football in God’s big, big yard
  • In a driving wind that filled my clean yard with leaves, reminding me that God expects me to keep my Sabbath commitments
  • In a Scripture passage that spoke to me right where I was.

As you reflect on God’s presence in your life, I invite you to listen to George Strait’s “I Saw God Today.”

Leave a Reply

