Advent Reflection: Discerning God’s Will

Standard

So they called Rebekah and asked her, “Will you go with this man?”

She answered, “I will.”

Genesis 24:58

Where is God calling you today? Will you go?

well-rebekah

Going Deeper

Read Genesis Chapter 24.

Sometimes it seems like it was so much easier to discern the will of God during Old Testament times. Abraham’s servant just named the sign he was looking for, and the first woman who came to the spring did exactly what she was supposed to. Once he explained his story, Rebekah left her home and family and followed the servant. It all seems so simple and straightforward.

When I try to seek God’s guidance as I make decisions, it is rarely that clear. If I presume to ask for a specific sign, I rarely see it. When I watch for signs, I often see multiple contradictory signs. And I can’t tell if the signs I see are coming from God.

Though it may not seem as easy as it used to be, we do have tools at our disposal to help us determine God’s will. Here are just a few:

  • Pray all the time, not just when you need something or have a question. A habit of prayer will make it easier for you to recognize God’s nudging when you experience it.
  • The Bible. Read the scriptures. God will not ask you to make a choice that contradicts his word. You have to know God’s word to know if the decision you make is consistent with the Bible.
  • Other people. Discuss the situation with people you trust, people whose lives reflect the fruits of the spirit (Galatians 5:22-23). That doesn’t mean that you do whatever the other person tells you to. Instead, let the person help you to understand the situation better, so you can make a wise decision that is consistent with God’s will.

Pray this excerpt from Psalm 27:

Hear my voice, Lord, when I call; have mercy on me and answer me.

“Come,” says my heart, “seek his face”;

your face, Lord, do I seek!

 

Lord, show me your way;

lead me on a level path because of my enemies.

Do not abandon me to the desire of my foes;

malicious and lying witnesses have risen against me.

 

I believe I shall see the Lord’s goodness in the land of the living.

Wait for the Lord, take courage; be stouthearted, wait for the Lord!

Psalm 27:7,8,11-14

Leave a Reply

