Advent Reflection: Following God Wherever He Leads

Standard

The Lord said to Abram: Go forth from your land, your relatives, and from your father’s house to a land that I will show you. I will make of you a great nation, and I will bless you; I will make your name great, so that you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you and curse those who curse you. All the families of the earth will find blessing in you.

Genesis 12:1-3

Have you ever felt the call to leave the familiar—your hometown, your extended family, your church community, or your job? How were you blessed when you followed that call?

star-coloring-pages-to-print

Going Deeper

Read Genesis 12:1-4 and Genesis 15:1-6.

Four years ago, I felt called to make some changes in my life. I had been participating in a process of charism discernment. Charisms are the gifts the Holy Spirit has given you to use for the benefit of the community. Through that process, I rediscovered my love for writing. However, my packed schedule didn’t leave any room for writing. And I couldn’t share my gift with others if I didn’t have time to exercise it.

The scariest part of the changes I made was switching jobs. I had been working at the same company for eleven years, but my history went back much further. In junior high I volunteered there while exploring physical therapy as a career, and while I was in college I worked there as a physical therapy tech. It was a large company, and through the years I had been able to change departments and schedules to meet my personal and professional needs. This time, though, when I asked if I could switch from full time to part time, my request was adamantly denied. So I left the place where I felt comfortable and at home, and took a new job. The new job was in the same practice setting as the first job I took as a physical therapist. That made the transition even scarier, because that first job had not been a good one.

While the transition was not without its rough patches, taking the leap of faith and leaving my comfort zone has yielded great rewards. I’m working with great therapists in a lovely facility where I get to see my patients make progress toward their goals every day. And I’ve written two novels, which I’m now working on sharing with the world. I wouldn’t be where I am today if I hadn’t, like Peter, been willing to get out of the boat. (Matthew 14:22-33)

Heavenly Father, give me the strength to follow your guidance, even when it means leaving that which is comfortable and familiar. I trust that you will always be with me, and that you will keep your promises, even when they seem to be impossible.

Leave a Reply

