A Hug From Jesus

Standard

The summer after my junior year of college was a lonely one. Most of my college friends had graduated and gone their separate ways. I was living with my parents for the summer, but saw very little of them because I was working second shift. By the time I woke up in the morning they were gone to work, and by the time I got home from work, they were in bed. I was working as a nurse’s aide in a care center with a major employee absenteeism problem. Because we were almost always short-staffed, I never felt like I had time to take care of the residents in the way they deserved. I frequently had to stay an extra four to eight hours after my shift to cover for people who didn’t show up for the next shift. It was a frustrating time that left me feeling discouraged and inadequate.

I tried a variety of things to bring me comfort and lift my mood, but nothing worked. Finally, I turned to God. (Why is it that we so often make God our last resort, when he should be our go-to guy?) I tuned my car radio to the Christian station. I tried to pray on my way to and from work. Even when it was hard to find the words to say, I did my best to surround myself with things that reminded me of God. After placing myself in God’s presence over a period of time, I was actually able to feel his arms around me, comforting me. That was the first time I realized that God really could meet all of my needs—even my need for a hug.

jesus-hugging-girl-cropped

 

I still have to remind myself often that God is enough, especially when I find myself longing for a husband and children of my own. Sometimes God chooses to use other people to fulfill our desires. Other times he calls on us to trust and depend on him alone to meet our needs. Think about that as you listen to this Josh Turner song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpNyMo82ulE.

jesus_is_the_answer-33424

What do you most need or long for?

Pray that God would fulfill that longing.

Then watch for him to do it on his timing and in a way you may not expect.

One thought on “A Hug From Jesus

Leave a Reply

