Who do you say that I am?

Standard

Today’s Gospel reading, from Luke chapter 9, begins:

Once when Jesus was praying by himself, and the disciples were with him, he asked them, “Who do the crowds say that I am?” They said in reply, “John the Baptist; others, Elijah; still others, ‘One of the ancient prophets has arisen.’ ” Then he said to them, “But who do you say that I am?” Peter said in reply, “The Christ of God.”                                      Luke 9:18-20

Reflecting on this passage, I wondered how Jesus’ questions would be answered today.

Who do the crowds say that I am?

According to Barna research (https://www.barna.org/barna-update/culture/714-what-do-americans-believe-about-jesus-5-popular-beliefs#.V2Da8rsrLIU):

  • 92% of Americans believe Jesus was a real person who actually lived.
  • 56% of Americans believe Jesus is God, while 26% say he was just a religious leader, on par with the Buddha or Mohammed.
  • 46% of Americans believe Jesus remained sinless throughout his life, while 52% believe Jesus committed sins, just like other people.

On-the-street interviews asking the question “Who is Jesus?” garner a variety of answers (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OB2cvvHtqsA, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=johNLhZ5y48, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hm308hopZhU, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YztvjePz0uk):

Who do people say I am Word Cloud

Who do the Bible and the Church say that I am?

Who does the Bible say I am

But who do you say that I am?

This is perhaps the most important question. I challenge you to think and pray about it, and write down your answer to this question. I would love it if you would share your answer with me.

Here is my answer, at this time in my life:

Who do you say that I am Word Cloud

4 thoughts on “Who do you say that I am?

  1. Kristen

    Hi Teresa! You should check into writing for “Blessed is She”. Are you familiar with them? I get an email every single day with the readings for the day and a reflection by another woman about the readings. This reflection of yours was excellent and I think you’d fit well with all the others I’ve read. Blessings to you!
    Kristen

    Like

Leave a Reply

