Survival Skills Excerpt-Ch. 10

Quote

Chapter 10 Excerpt

By the time I reached his office, I was completely out of breath. I knew I should stop and compose myself, but I couldn’t. I was desperate to confront Dr. Franklin—for doing scientific experiments on us without even telling us, potentially placing our health and even our lives at risk. I knocked on his closed door, a little harder than I had planned. In a moment, Dr. Franklin began to open the door. I resisted the urge to push my way inside.

“Do you have a moment, Dr. Franklin?” I asked, as calmly as I could.

“Sure, come in,” he answered, opening the door wider. One of the great things about attending a smaller college was the professors’ open door policy.

I pushed the door closed behind me and turned immediately toward Dr. Franklin. “I know what you’re doing to us in paradigms,” I blurted out, “and it is not right.”

I expected to see some sort of reaction, but he appeared unfazed. He sat down in his office chair and motioned to the chair on the opposite side of his desk.

I remained standing and took a step closer to the desk. “You are exposing us to toxic gases during class.”

Dr. Franklin’s gaze remained steady on me. His face was attentive, but showed no emotion.

“You are using your students as captive subjects for your scientific experiments.” My voice grew louder with each statement. I was leaning toward Dr. Franklin, my hands resting on his desk.

Dr. Franklin paused a moment, no doubt to ensure I was done with my rant. “I’m glad to see you’ve been doing your homework,” he began, flashing me a small smile. “I wish more students did.” His smile disappeared and his brow furrowed.

I remained standing and took a step closer to the desk. “You are exposing us to toxic gases during class.”

Dr. Franklin’s gaze remained steady on me. His face was attentive, but showed no emotion.

“You are using your students as captive subjects for your scientific experiments.” My voice grew louder with each statement. I was leaning toward Dr. Franklin, my hands resting on his desk.

Dr. Franklin paused a moment, no doubt to ensure I was done with my rant. “I’m glad to see you’ve been doing your homework,” he began, flashing me a small smile. “I wish more students did.” His smile disappeared and his brow furrowed.

Leave a Reply

