I’ve opened my heart to the light of Christ. Now what do I do with it?

Standard

Advent Reflection 12/9/14

When the light of Christ fills our hearts, does that change how we act?

Listen to “Carry Your Candle” by Kathy Troccoli https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVqR6kTu8lE

Carry your candle,

run to the darkness,

seek out the hopeless,

confused and torn.

Hold out your candle

for all to see it.

Take your candle

and go light your world.

Then the king will say to those on his right, “Come, you who are blessed by my Father. Inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, a stranger and you welcomed me, naked and you clothed me, ill and you cared for me, in prison and you visited me.”

Then the righteous will answer him and say, “Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? When did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? When did we see you ill or in prison, and visit you?”

And the king will say to them in reply, “Amen, I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.”

                                                 Matthew 25:34-40

Think of the people you encounter throughout your week. Who do you find the most irritating? Whom would you go out of your way to avoid? Maybe it’s a person who seeks out the negative in every situation or someone who consistently makes destructive choices.

Say a prayer for that person. Remember, that person is a beloved child of God, lovingly created in God’s image. Think of one thing you can do this week to bring God’s light into that individual’s life.

Leave a Reply

